A Romance Of Wastdale

Author: A.E.W. Mason
Publisher: House of Stratus
ISBN: 0755117522
Size: 69.81 MB
Format: PDF, ePub, Docs
View: 1310
Download Read Online

A Romance Of Wastdale from the Author: A.E.W. Mason. David Gordon is in love and engaged to be married to Kate Nugent, a woman who is ‘the one real thing…on his journey through a world of shadows’. But the sinister figure of Austen Hawke, Gordon’s rival, threatens to eclipse the wedding and wreck Gordon’s one chance of true happiness. And when David Gordon witnesses Kate and the iniquitous Hawke kissing one night, his heart is broken. Is Kate betraying him or is Hawke manipulating both David Gordon and his fiancée for his own wicked ends? A E W Mason’s first published novel tells a vintage love story and a tale of blackmail.

Peter Pan S First Xi

Author: Kevin Telfer
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 1848946686
Size: 65.87 MB
Format: PDF, ePub
View: 3812
Download Read Online

Peter Pan S First Xi from the Author: Kevin Telfer. The creator of Peter Pan, J.M. Barrie, was a hugely enthusiastic cricketer of very little talent. That didn’t stop him from leading perhaps the most extraordinary amateur cricket team ever to have taken the field. Some of the twentieth century’s most famous writers including A. A. Milne, P. G. Wodehouse and Jerome K. Jerome, regularly turned out for Barrie’s team between 1890 and 1913. This very Edwardian vision of village cricket was only brought to an end by the First World War. Those years of golden summers were recounted in Barrie’s letters and journals, many revealed here for the first time. Cricket lovers will identify with Barrie’s attempts to assemble a team of competent players. In PETER PAN'S FIRST XI, Kevin Telfer weaves together cricket, literature, history, humour and biography to create an entertaining account of this little-known band of cricketing Peter Pans – and the age in which they lived.

The Philanderers

Author: A. E. W. Mason
ISBN: 9781406587821
Size: 14.24 MB
Format: PDF
View: 6578
Download Read Online

The Philanderers from the Author: A. E. W. Mason. Alfred Edward Woodley Mason (1865-1948) was a British author. He studied at Dulwich College and graduated from Trinity College, Oxford in 1888. His first novel, A Romance of Wastdale, was published in 1895. He is the author of more than twenty books, among them The Four Feathers, originally published in London in 1902. His next successful work was At the Villa Rose (1910), where he introduced his French detective, Hanaud. He was elected as a Liberal Member of Parliament for Coventry in the 1906 general election. He served only a single term in Parliament, retiring at the next general election in January 1910. He contributed a short story, The Conjurer, to The Queen's Book of the Red Cross. His other works include The Philanderers (1897), Miranda of the Balcony (1899), Clementina (1901), Ensign Knightley and Other Stories (1901), The Four Feathers (1902), Running Water (1907), The Witness for the Defence (1913), The Summons (1920), No Other Tiger (1927), The Prisoner in the Opal (1929), Fire Over England (1937) and The House of the Arrow (1924).

From Poverty To Wealth

Author: William Theodore Hickman
Size: 18.30 MB
Format: PDF, Docs
View: 5105
Download Read Online

From Poverty To Wealth from the Author: William Theodore Hickman.

Hamilton Romance

Author: David R Beasley
Publisher: David Beasley
ISBN: 0915317052
Size: 32.34 MB
Format: PDF, Docs
View: 7509
Download Read Online

Hamilton Romance from the Author: David R Beasley. A story of Hamilton (Ontario) society in the year following VE day (1945) and of the maturing process through the first person narrative of law student Tom Davis. Composed with youthful vigour, the book is enjoyable, rebellious, and anti-establishment,” —Brantford Expositor.