Peppercorn Woman

Author: Meg Hutchinson
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 1444718630
Size: 61.76 MB
Format: PDF
View: 1452
Download Read Online

Peppercorn Woman from the Author: Meg Hutchinson. 'Throw it to the dogs! Do as I say or by Christ I'll do it myself and throw you in after it!' Tyler Cadell's cruel order spells heartbreak for his wife Garnet and their new-born baby. She flees to save herself, but cannot save her child and the memory of that tragic loss haunts her days. Taken in by a band of Black Country Romanies, Garnet is touched by the warmth and generosity of the gypsy people, even if not all of them offer her an equally charitable welcome. Although loved by their leader, Judah Kane, Garnet moves on once she has regained her strength and determines to take revenge on her husband. Meanwhile Tyler has assumed the role of grieving widower in order to ally his fortune with that of Lady Olivia Denton: the reappearance of his legal wife would be a major inconvenience. Indulging his voracious sexual appetite with the sensual gypsy girl, Marisa, Tyler learns of Garnet's whereabouts and determines to be rid of her once and for all.

Peppercorn Street

Author: Anna Jacobs
Publisher: Allison & Busby
ISBN: 0749017074
Size: 39.87 MB
Format: PDF, Mobi
View: 1233
Download Read Online

Peppercorn Street from the Author: Anna Jacobs. Three women find new hope in Peppercorn Street, a small village in a beautiful corner of Wiltshire with a mixture of homes and people. Janey is 18 and living in a small flat with her baby daughter. Just as her new life starts to show promise, her past catches up with her. Nicole is renting one of the new luxury flats. She’s just walked away from her husband and teenage sons, tired of being treated as a servant, suspecting her husband of having an affair. Winifred has lived in her large family home at the top of the street for over eighty years but it’s all getting too much, though she doesn’t want to leave.Things are not what they seem in any of the three women’s lives and danger can strike at rich and poor alike. The trick is to survive it, and for this you need good friends and courage: all freely available in Peppercorn Street.

The Peppercorn Project

Author: Nicki Edwards
Publisher: Momentum
ISBN: 1760302279
Size: 62.32 MB
Format: PDF, Docs
View: 4815
Download Read Online

The Peppercorn Project from the Author: Nicki Edwards. One heartbroken woman. One bitter cop. One community to save them. After the tragic death of her husband, single mum Isabelle Cassidy is bereft and broke. When she hears about The Peppercorn Project - a scheme that offers affordable rent in the tiny but vibrant town of Stony Creek - Issie sees it as her family's best chance at a fresh start. Newly single police officer Matt Robertson moved to Stony Creek to lick his wounds after a bitter divorce. Wanting only peace and quiet, Matt is against the Project, seeing it as a threat to the peace he's found in the country town - until he meets Issie. Despite himself, Matt is drawn to the widow and feels inexplicably protective of her fragile family. Just when Issie begins to imagine a future with Matt, an accident proves how far she has to go before she can move beyond her grief. But the citizens of Stony Creek won't rest until they see these two broken souls find a new beginning, together. Can Issie move beyond the pain of her past and entrust Matt with her family, and her heart? A gorgeous rural romance for fans of Fiona McArthur, Rachael Johns and Fiona McCallum.

The Warden

Author: Anthony Trollope
Publisher: OUP Oxford
ISBN: 0191643327
Size: 22.29 MB
Format: PDF, Docs
View: 2055
Download Read Online

The Warden from the Author: Anthony Trollope. 'You might pass Eleanor Harding in the street without notice, but you could hardly pass an evening with her and not lose your heart.' John Bold has lost his heart to Eleanor Harding but he is a political radical who has launched a campaign against the management of the charity of which her father is the Warden. How can this tangle be resolved? In the novel which is Trollope's first acknowledged masterpiece, the emotional drama is staged against the background of two major contemporary social issues: the inappropriate use of charitable funds and the irresponsible exercise of the power of the press. A witty love story, in the Jane Austen tradition, this is also an unusually subtle example of 'Condition of England' fiction, combining its charming portrayal of life in an English cathedral close with a serious engagement in larger social and political issues. The Warden is the first of the six books which form Trollope's Barsetshire series of novels. This edition also includes 'The Two Heroines of Plumplington' - the short story which Trollope added, just before his death, to provide a final episode in the annals of Barsetshire. ABOUT THE SERIES: For over 100 years Oxford World's Classics has made available the widest range of literature from around the globe. Each affordable volume reflects Oxford's commitment to scholarship, providing the most accurate text plus a wealth of other valuable features, including expert introductions by leading authorities, helpful notes to clarify the text, up-to-date bibliographies for further study, and much more.

Poison

Author: Chris Wooding
Publisher: Scholastic UK
ISBN: 1407143883
Size: 61.87 MB
Format: PDF, Docs
View: 5081
Download Read Online

Poison from the Author: Chris Wooding. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Tim Burton, this is no ordinary fairy tale. When Poison's baby sister is stolen by phaeries, Poison sets off on an incredible and dangerous journey to get her sister back from the Phaerie Lord. But as Poison travels to the Realm of Phaerie, she discovers that her story - and her destiny - is not in her control, and that she will need all her wits about her to survive. A fantasy where the power of story maybe the only thing that will save you, and where imagination knows no bounds.