My Path To Atheism

Author: Annie Besant
Publisher: The Floating Press
ISBN: 1776582578
Size: 65.78 MB
Format: PDF, Kindle
View: 1201
Download Read Online

My Path To Atheism from the Author: Annie Besant. Even today, atheism is a controversial subject, so it's not surprising that the 1895 publication of British thinker and activist Annie Besant's My Path to Atheism caused quite a stir. In the book, Besant lays out a compelling case for secularism and details her own spiritual journey -- one that eventually led to her disavowal of the Christian concept of God.

Beyond Atheism Beyond God

Author: Philip A. Stahl
Publisher: iUniverse
ISBN: 1475998295
Size: 62.93 MB
Format: PDF, Docs
View: 1229
Download Read Online

Beyond Atheism Beyond God from the Author: Philip A. Stahl. In his new study, Beyond Atheism, Beyond God, author Philip A. Stahl uses atheism as a rational stepping stone to arrive at an emergent conception of the universe, exposing features that might be described as transcendent. He presents an impersonal approach to Being that is devoid of any specific religious overtones or affi liations. Each person becomes a quantum-based co-creator in his or her own right, according to physicist Henry Stapp. As such, we are able to thereby see ourselves and our humanity in a new light, as opposed to being merely reactive cogs in a vast mechanical-reductionist machine. Effectively, we emerge as much more than assemblies of molecules. This volume, the fourth and final entry in Stahl’s series on atheism, seeks to arrive at a transcendent concept of being that also surpasses absolutism and naïve or dogmatic deity templates. It considers the development of a more realistic, cogent and effective ethics and morality less likely to be exploited by the power mongers or sacred source apologists, and it answers the question of whether God exists—though not in the way one would normally assume.

Conversations With C S Lewis

Author: Robert Velarde
Publisher: InterVarsity Press
ISBN: 0830834834
Size: 80.47 MB
Format: PDF, Docs
View: 2681
Download Read Online

Conversations With C S Lewis from the Author: Robert Velarde. "C. S. Lewis died in 1963, but I met him last week." Robert Velarde tells of an imaginative journey in which the literature professor mysteriously appears in Thomas Clerk's hospital room. "Call me Jack," the writer says as he invites Clerk to step into a wardrobe. From there the two embark on a remarkable journey through Lewis's life. They experience pivotal events from Lewis's childhood and meet many of his real and imaginary friends; they visit the Kilns with his brother, Warnie, and spend time in Oxford with fellow writers and Inklings J. R. R. Tolkien and Charles Williams. They also sit with Lewis's dying wife, Joy Davidman, and they even enter the world of Narnia. Along the way, Lewis challenges Clerk's thinking about the existence of God, the truth of Christianity, the problem of pain and suffering, the nature of love and much more. Are human beings a cosmic accident? Can we have morality without God? Was Jesus just a guru? Can we really believe in heaven and hell? Tom and Jack discuss these and many other questions, and they invite you to eavesdrop on their conversations. Prepare yourself for some of the most invigorating discussions you may ever experience this side of heaven.

Atheism Ayn Rand And Other Heresies

Author: George H. Smith
Size: 35.73 MB
Format: PDF, Mobi
View: 1012
Download Read Online

Atheism Ayn Rand And Other Heresies from the Author: George H. Smith. Essays discuss the relevance of atheism to modern society, Ayn Rand's philosophy of Objectivism, the public obsession with the war on drugs, and public education

Dictionary Of Atheism Skepticism And Humanism

Author: Bill Cooke
Publisher: Pyr Books
Size: 48.88 MB
Format: PDF
View: 6340
Download Read Online

Dictionary Of Atheism Skepticism And Humanism from the Author: Bill Cooke. In the tradition of Voltaire’s Philosophical Dictionary, Ambrose Bierce’s Devil’s Dictionary, and Joseph McCabe’s Rationalist Encyclopedia, this accessible dictionary addresses the contemporary need for a reference book that succinctly summarizes the key concepts, current terminology, and major contributions of influential thinkers broadly associated with atheism, skepticism, and humanism. In the preface, author Bill Cooke notes that his work is intended "for freethinkers in the broadest sense of the word: people who like to think for themselves and not according to the preplanned routes set by others." This dictionary will serve as a guide for all those people striving to lead fulfilling, morally responsible lives without religious belief. Readers are offered a wide range of concepts, from ancient, well-known notions such as God, free will, and evil to new concepts such as "eupraxsophy." Also included are current "buzzwords" that have some bearing on the freethought worldview such as "metrosexual." The names of many people whose lives or work reflect freethought principles form a major portion of the entries. Finally, a humanist calendar is included, on which events of interest to freethinkers are noted. This unique, accessible, and highly informative work will be a welcome addition to the libraries of open-minded people of all philosophic persuasions.


Author: Pearl Goodman
Publisher: Bridgeross Communications
ISBN: 0987824481
Size: 49.26 MB
Format: PDF
View: 471
Download Read Online

Peril from the Author: Pearl Goodman. The daughter of Holocaust survivors, Pearl Goodman grew up in Toronto in the 1960s. In this exceptionally original memoir, written with wry humor and a sharp satirical eye, she juxtaposes popular culture with the jarring transitions and contradictions in her and her parents' lives. Striving to make sense of her emerging identity, she invokes TV shows, ads, movies, and distinctive details of the material and ideological landscape, while interweaving them with her parents' harrowing wartime experiences of concentration and refugee camps, and the drama and uncertainty of their postwar emigration first to Israel, and then to Canada.

Der Gotteswahn

Author: Richard Dawkins
Publisher: Ullstein eBooks
ISBN: 3843701741
Size: 58.26 MB
Format: PDF, Docs
View: 7668
Download Read Online

Der Gotteswahn from the Author: Richard Dawkins. »Religion ist irrational, fortschrittsfeindlich und zerstörerisch.« Richard Dawkins, einer der einflussreichsten Intellektuellen der Gegenwart, zeigt, warum der Glaube an Gott einer vernünftigen Betrachtung nicht standhalten kann. Ein wichtiges Buch, das zu einem brennend aktuellen Thema eindeutig und überzeugend Position bezieht – brillant und bei aller Schärfe humorvoll. Entdecken Sie auch das Hörbuch zu diesem Titel!